Volume 45, No. 5, Nov. 10, 2016

Congratulations to our new board members

On Nov. 8, community members cast their votes in the general election for three open seats on the Mesa Public Schools Governing Board. Unofficial results are in, and the district would like to welcome Elaine Miner and Kiana Sears to the board. They will take their seats in January 2017. Current board president Steven Peterson has also been re-elected. Thank you to Michael Nichols and Dr. Ben Whiting, who will complete their service in December. We value your commitment and dedication to the students of Mesa.

Veterans Day parade

Mesa High JROTC

Schools and district offices are closed Friday, Nov. 11, in observance of Veterans Day. On behalf of everyone at Mesa Public Schools, we'd like to extend our thanks and appreciation to all of our district employees who have served.

At 11 a.m. Friday, the East Valley Veterans Parade takes place in downtown Mesa. The parade is an opportunity for the community to celebrate local veterans, active military services members and their families. More than 100 organizations are involved in the parade, including the marching bands from Dobson, Mesa, Mountain View and Westwood high schools. ROTC members from Dobson, Mesa and Westwood high schools will also be participating. 

Free professional development for teachers at MIM

The Musical Instrument Museum is offering free professional development opportunities in early 2017. RSVP now for the Jan. 14 Build Early Skills Through Music session for pre-K to second-grade teachers. Third- to eighth-grade teachers can RSVP for the March 11 STEM + Music session. 

Mesa Public Schools Chipotle Day

MPS Chipotle Day flierNovember 30 is Mesa Public Schools Chipotle Day!

Five Mesa locations will donate 50 percent of sales to Mesa Foundation for Educational Excellence from 4 to 8 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 30.

The following locations are participating:

1335 S. Alma School Rd., Suite 105
3440 E. Baseline Rd., Unit 104
6602 E. Superstition Springs Blvd., Pad C
2849 N. Power Rd., #101
1955 S. Signal Butte Rd., Suite 101

Simply show the flier in person, on your phone or mention to the cashier that you're there to support the Foundation.

Mesa Foundation for Educational Excellence supports district students and educators in a variety of ways. RSVP on the Facebook event page.

Tell us why you love your job

We are embarking on a new campaign to recruit employees for Mesa Public Schools, and you can help out. Send an email to news@mpsaz.org with your name, title and why you love your job. Be as specific as you'd like. We might use your testimonial on social media or the careers webpage. Thanks in advance!

Employee and Volunteer of the Month nominations needed

Know a colleague or volunteer who deserves a moment in the spotlight? Nominate them for Employee or Volunteer of the Month! The Governing Board and superintendency celebrate two certified and two classified employees, as well as one volunteer, at the second board meeting from September to April. Employee of the Month winners receive $400 toward professional development along with a framed certificate. Volunteer of the Month winners receive a $50 Amazon gift card, candy bouquet and certificate. 

Visit the employee resources page to nominate an Employee of the Month or Volunteer of the Month

Cue the applause

Allen Quie headshotCongratulations to Dr. Allen Quie, principal at Red Mountain Center for Early Education (pictured). He was named 2016 School Administrator of the Year by Arizona Association of School Psychologists. Quie oversees all educational opportunities for special education preschoolers in the district.

On Nov. 8, 22 district teachers were honored by the Oriental Lodge #20 Masons. Honorees received a certificate and plant at an awards reception in downtown Mesa. Congratulations to Flora Cullison (Crismon Elementary), Judith Laten (Eisenhower Center for Innovation), Sharisse Nunes (Falcon Hill Elementary), Stephanie Brimley (Hawthorne Elementary), Pamela Robedeau (Highland Arts Elementary), Jacquelyn Lowell (Johnson Elementary), James McKinley (Keller Elementary), Dawn Collins (Kerr Elementary), Denise Plympton (Lindbergh Elementary), Jessica Castaneda (Porter Elementary), Leslie Shepherd (Sirrine Elementary), Barbie Formichella (Stevenson Elementary), Katie Webb (Webster Elementary), Randy Jarvis (Carson Junior High), Wendi Egnew (Kino Junior High), Tammy Selke (Taylor Junior High), Kristie Berwager (Crossroads), Brenda Barta (Skyline High School) and Cherilyn Guy (Westwood High School). Three retiring teachers received lifetime achievement awards at the reception: Lourdes Mejia (Keller Elementary), Jyll Stumpfig (Wilson Elementary) and Jennifer Welch (O'Connor Elementary).

Jefferson Elementary School recently hosted a site visit for AVID district leaders from across the western United States. Visitors observed strategies in use and discussed successful schoolwide implementation. This is Jefferson's first year as an AVID National Showcase School.

Elaine Veatch, fifth-grade teacher at Longfellow Elementary, was named a 2017 Arizona Teacher of the Year semifinalist by the Arizona Educational Foundation. Veatch has worked at Emerson and Longfellow for 22 years and is currently a candidate for National Board Certification in literacy.

At the Sept. 27 Governing Board meeting, the board honored four staff members. Dan Hurst, industrial technology teacher at Red Mountain High School, and Sierra Rhinehart, math teacher at Kino Junior High, were named Educators of the Month. Gary Darrah, night lead custodian at Irving Elementary, and Carolen Letavec, demonstration health assistant at Health Services, were named Employees of the Month. Carol Walton, Stevenson Elementary, was honored as Volunteer of the Month. 

Send news to:

Heidi Hurst, district communications supervisor

Submit an award or recognition or tell us about a special event via our good news form.


Follow Mesa Public Schools on social media

Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram


Current Issue | All Past Issues