Mrs. Sunny Ra's Bio. Pic.Biography


Mrs. Sunny Ra is the Orchestra Director at Crismon Elementary School & Hughes [Hawthorne] Elementary School and teaches elementary string orchestra.


Mrs. Ra has taught in the Mesa Public Schools District for 23 years. Besides teaching at Crismon Elementary School & Hughes [Hawthorne] Elementary School, she has taught at Hermosa Vista Elementary School, Redbird Elementary School, Summit Academy, O’Connor Elementary School, Salk Elementary School, Sirrine Elementary School, Pomeroy Elementary School, and Longfellow Elementary School.


In addition to her teaching duties, Mrs. Ra directed the Mesa Young People’s Orchestra (MYPO) during the 2005-2006 school year.


An active performer and freelance musician, Mrs. Ra has performed with the Phoenix Opera and with numerous Valley orchestras, including: Musica Nova, the Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra, the Mesa Symphony Orchestra, the San Marcos Symphony (now known as the Chandler Symphony), the Scottsdale Symphony, and the Symphony of the West Valley. As a freelance musician, she has performed with some of the greatest artists of our time, including the late Steve Allen, Johnny Mathis, Bobby Vinton, Anne Murray, and Rod Stewart. She has also played for such diverse artists as Steve Lawrence and Edie Gorme, Marvin Hamlisch, Sheena Easton and Irene Cara, Clay Aiken, and Josh Groban.


Mrs. Ra is an active member of the Arizona Chapter of the American String Teachers Association (ASTA) and is a member of the National Association of Music Education (MENC).


Mrs. Ra is a graduate of Arizona State University (B.M.E.) and of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (M.M.E.).





Master of Science in General Music Education at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Bachelor of Music in Instrumental Music Education at Arizona State University, Tempe


Teaching Assignments:


Crismon, 2020-present


Hughes [Hawthorne], 2018-present


Hawthorne, 2016-2018


Hermosa Vista, 2015-2020


Redbird, 2015-2016


Summit Academy, 2010-2015


O'Connor, 1998-2010


Salk, 2009-2010


Sirrine, 2005-2009


Pomeroy, 1998-2005


Longfellow, 1998-1999