State law requires that you authorize your child's absence from school and notify us in advance or at the time of absence. Your message to us will save time and help protect your child.
Call (480) 472-8800 to report an absence.
If your child is absent and we don't hear from you, we'll do our best to contact you by phone within two hours after the first missed class.
It is vital that we have one or more phone numbers to contact you during the school day. If your numbers change, let us know right away.
Whenever it is impossible for you to notify us in advance or at the time of an absence, please notify us that the absence was authorized on the morning your child returns to school.
If no notice of authorization is received within one day after their return, the absence shall be considered unexcused.
Please let us know if your child will be out of school for a long period of time.
If your child is absent 10 consecutive school days, his/her name will be automatically taken off our roll books unless your child is traveling with you or has a prolonged illness.
If a student is late, he/she must come to the office with a parent to obtain a tardy pass. This is of vital importance for the attendance records and the fact that phone calls are made to the home of all absent students.
Official Statement From the District Regarding Absences:
Office of School Safety and Security
63 E Main Street, #300, Mesa Arizona 85201
480.472.1150 Phone 480.472.1160 Fax
A Few Facts on Elementary Schools Attendance for Parents/Guardians
ALL ABSENCES ARE EITHER EXCUSED OR UNEXCUSED
WHAT DETERMINES AN EXCUSED ABSENCE?
It is anytime a parent calls the school with a reason for a students’ absence which the Principal determines is justifiable. (Excused)
WHAT DETERMINES AN UNEXCUSED ABSENCE?
No contact from a parent: No phone call on the day of absence or note from the parent the day the student returns to school.
THE ALLOWABLE NUMBER OF DAYS A STUDENT CAN BE ABSENT; EXCUSED OR UNEXCUSED.
· Arizona State Law requires students attend 90% of the total days school is in session.
· Mesa Schools are in session 180 days each school year.
· 90% = 162 days in school
· 10% = 18 days of absences
· Parent(s)/Guardian(s) may be cited to court for their student wit 18 or more absences a school year (Excused or Unexcused)
· Each of the 18 absences, the parent(s) are expected to call the school or send a note within 24 hours of the day the child returns to school.
· If you do not have a phone and it is possible, send a note each day with a sibling or neighbor, especially if your child will be out more than a day.
· It is recommended to call child’s school each day your child is absent, so we know your child is safe.
COMMUNICATION, COMMUNICATION, COMMUNICATION!
· Keep in touch with the school.
· Home phone number – be sure the school always has your correct or new number.
· Home address – be sure the school has your correct address.
· When the student goes to medical appointments, provide a written excuse from the doctor to the school to explain the absence.
· Contact the Principal when you feel it is necessary.
· Advise the Principal when there is a family crisis.
· Know the school attendance number – it has 24 hour voice mail available.
· Know the additional education services available for your child such as after school tutoring or homework hours at some schools. As your school what is available.
· Know the clubs and after school activities available for your child.
Students residing within the SRPMIC boundaries must follow the guidelines of the SRPMIC Truancy Ordinance (SRO 11-309 to 11-318)