Mesa High football photo with text reading Athletics
Mesa High swim and dive athletes

Fall sports

Badminton
Coach: Maryann Stegall, msstegal@mpsaz.org

Cross Country
Boys coach: Jennifer Brierton, jlbrierton@mpaz.org
Girls coach: TJ Hagen, tjhagen@mpsaz.org

Football
Head coach: Kap Sikahema, kapasikahema@hotmail.com
Strength and conditioning coach: James Trischan, jjtrishan@mpsaz.org

Golf - Boys
Coach: Darris Schomaker, djschoma@mpsaz.org

Golf - Girls
Coach: Keri Schaufelberger, klschauf@mpsaz.org

Swim & Dive
Boys coach: Mike Haney, mdhaney@mpsaz.org
Girls coach: Lorna Kerby, lfkerby@mpsaz.org

Volleyball - Girls
Coach: Amy Strawn, amstrawn@mpsaz.org

Mesa High basketball player at state championship game

Winter sports

Basketball - Boys
Coach: Shane Burcar, saburcar@mpsaz.org

Basketball - Girls
Coach: Katie Fonseca, kmfonseca@mpsaz.org

Soccer - Boys
Coach: TJ Hagen, tjhagen@mpsaz.org

Soccer - Girls
Coach: Brigette Tarwater, brigettetarwater@gmail.com

Wrestling
Coach: David DiDomenico, djdidomenico@mpsaz.org

Mesa High track and field athlete

Spring sports

Baseball
Coach: Mike Masciangelo, mlmasciangelo@mpsaz.org

Softball
Coach: Richard Martin, rcmartin@mpsaz.org

Tennis - Boys
Coach: Glenn Meier, glmeier@mpsaz.org

Tennis - Girls
Coach: Darris Schomaker, djschomaker@mpsaz.org.

Track & Field - Boys
Coach: David Brockmeier, dabrockmeier@mpsaz.org

Track & Field - Girls
Coach: Lorna Kerby, lfkerby@mpsaz.org

Volleyball - Boys
Coach: Raymond Lewis, rayvball09@yahoo.com

Contacts:

David Huffine
Athletic Director
480-472-5907

Beth Forkenbrock
Athletics secretary
480-472-5907

Shelli Herseth
Athletic trainer
480-472-5907

Ray Peters
Equipment manager
480-472-5869

Athletics calendar
Athletic information

All students who wish to participate in interscholastic athletic programs at Mesa High must have successfully completed physical packet on file in the athletic office at Mesa High before they can begin to practice or before they can check out equipment.  The physical must be conducted by a M.D. (doctor of medicine), D.O. (osteopathic physician), N.P. (certified registered nurse practitioner), or PA-C (certified physicians assistant registered by the Joint Board of Examiners in Medicine and Surgery).  The required physical packet may be obtained in the athletic office. If you have any questions regarding physicals contact the athletic secretary, at 480-472-5907.  

Athletic department philosophy/goals

The coaching staff at Mesa High School has dedicated itself to the development of the total student athlete.  Both the physical and psychological growth of each person is conscientiously considered when planning and implementing our athletic program.

Our professional staff is aware of the individual needs of youth as well as the social implications of being able to work as a member of a team.  Students will be given the opportunity to improve their athletic skills and to develop as well-rounded individuals.  

AIA
AIA constitution and bylaws
AIA transfer information
Athletic eligibility
Athletics department (district)
College-bound athletes
ECA tax credit

Help a student athlete and
lower your taxes

MAXPREPS
NCAA Clearinghouse
Physical forms
Register My Athlete
Register My Athlete instructions
Registrarse Mis Atleta Instrucciones
Safety & Brainbook