Students of the Month recognized at board meeting

The Governing Board honored five outstanding Mesa Public Schools students at the Nov. 10 board meeting. Students from Dobson High School, SHARP School, and Entz, Guerrero and Keller elementary schools have been named November Students of the Month.

Jaaliyah Montgomery Brian HayThe Mesa Public Schools Student of the Month program gives the district the opportunity to celebrate success. 

Each month during the school year, students from elementary, junior high and high schools throughout the district are selected to receive the award. Honorees are recognized for quality of character and excellence in leadership, academics, arts, athletics and more.

Students of the Month win plaques and other prizes

Abigael Conway, sixth grade, Entz Elementary
Melissa Grieve, 12th grade, Dobson High School
Jaaliyah Montgomery, third grade, Keller Elementary
Ernesto Moreno, 10th grade, SHARP School
Valeria Sanchez, sixth grade, Guerrero Elementary 

Board meetings come alive as families, friends, principals and teachers join district officials to honor Students of the Month. As videos show students in their daily school lives, their principals or other school representatives read thoughtful tributes aloud. Students take home special plaques and professional-quality portraits, provided by Mesa Public Schools. Winners also receive gift cards from the Mesa Foundation for Educational Excellence. Every presentation ends in proud handshakes, hugs and roaring applause from the crowd.

High expectations result in high student achievement

Student of the Month portraits hang on walls of honor in the Board Room and in the lobby of the Administrative Services Center. These smiling faces remind everyone who stops by that Students of the Month are shining examples of how high expectations pay off for the children of Mesa Public Schools.

Pictured: Jaaliyah Montgomery, a third-grader at Keller Elementary, is congratulated by her principal, Brian Hay. (Photo by Tim Hacker/Mesa Public Schools)


« Back to News