Mesa star athletes to be honored

Mesa City Sports Hall of Fame inducts its 2015 members Monday, Nov. 23, at Red Mountain High School.

Monday night at Red Mountain High School, several of Mesa's finest athletes will be inducted into the Mesa City Sports Hall of Fame. Longtime Red Mountain High School football coach Jim Jones is just one of the notable inductees.

Athletes to be honored are:

Quin Rodriguez — Dobson Football (1987)

Sean Stapley (posthumous) — Westwood Baseball/Football (1988)

Matt Kelley — Westwood Baseball/Football/Wrestling (1992)

Justin Roth — Dobson Swimming (1994)

Nicki Barna — Mountain View Tennis (1994)

Courtney Rang — Mountain View Tennis (1995)

Rusty James — Mountain View Football (1996)

Junior Taylor — Mesa High Football (2001)

Jesse Udell — Red Mountain Wrestling (2001)

Ryan Brooks — Red Mountain Golf (2004)


1995 state championship teams to be honored:

Dobson Boys Tennis, Coach Ralph Crabtree

Mountain View Boys Basketball, Coach Gary Ernst

Mountain View Girls Track, Coach Mary Morris

Red Mountain Boys Golf, Coach David John

Westwood Boys Cross Country, Coach Kyle Sawyer


The event is free and open to the public. Red Mountain High School choir will also be performing at the ceremony. Meet the inductees at a reception immediately preceding the induction ceremony at 6 p.m.

Where: Red Mountain High School, 7301 E. Brown Road, Mesa, AZ 85207

When: Monday, November 23, 2015

6 p.m. - Reception

7 p.m. - Induction ceremony

Streaming on


« Back to News