Sidney Williams

Email: sewilliams@mpsaz.org
Phone: 480-472-2827

My teaching career in Mesa Public Schools began many years ago and has been spent at Johnson, Irving, and Ishikawa Elementary Schools, Taylor and Stapley Junior High Schools, and the Mesa Academy for Advanced Studies.  I've taught orchestra and French, and for the past several years have been a part-time administrator at Stapley Jr. High.  This year I will be teaching the Intermediate and Advanced Orchestras at the Mesa Academy, and I will also continue in an administrative capacity as Team Leader at Stapley. 

I grew up in Flagstaff where I started playing the viola in 4th grade.  I wanted to play the cello but my parents said they were too expensive to rent, so I used the brand new viola the school loaned me.  I had been taking piano lessons since 3rd grade, so reading music wasn't new to me.  I'll skip ahead to college, where I was the only viola major (not the only player, though), and recruited to play with every group or for every recital which required a violist; needless to say, I got a lot of playing experience.  I have a Bachelor's degree in Music Education from NAU, a Master's in Viola Performance from ASU, and an Ed.D. in Educational Administration and Supervision, also from ASU.

I perform professionally around the valley and in the state.  In addition to playing for lots of weddings, receptions, and parties, I am frequently called to play for entertainers and shows that come to the valley.  I've performed with Andrea Bocelli, Idina Menzel, Josh Groban, Clay Aiken, Johnny Mathis, Mannheim Steamroller, Dionne Warwick, Rod Stewart, Bob Hope, George Burns, Bernadette Peters, Kenny Rogers, Page and Plant, and so many others that I've honestly lost track.  I've also played for touring shows in the Gammage Broadway series, including Camelot, The Color Purple, My Fair Lady, The Lion King, Little House on the PrairieEvita, Porgy and Bess, Cinderella, Phantom of the Opera, If/Then, and Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder.  Finally, I sub with the Phoenix Symphony and usually perform with them several times each year.

Intermediate and Advanced Orchestra Students:

If you're planning to attend any of the following performances, come to the pit/stage before the concert or during intermission, make eye contact with me, and you will be exempt from the Concert Report requirement for that quarter:

    

Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue (The Phoenix Symphony at Symphony Hall)

     Friday, November 24 at 7:30 p.m.
     Saturday, November 25 at 7:30 p.m.
     Sunday, November 26 at 2:00 p.m.

 

Mannheim Steamroller (Mesa Arts Center, Ikeda Theatre)

     Saturday, December 16 at 3:00 p.m.
     Saturday, December 16 at 7:30 p.m.
     Sunday, December 17 at 7:30 p.m. (Tucson Centennial Hall, 1020 E. University Blvd., Tucson)


The Nutcracker (Ballet Arizona with The Phoenix Symphony at Symphony Hall)

     Friday, December 8 at 7:30 p.m.
     Saturday, December 9 at 2:00 p.m.
     Saturday, December 9 at 7:30 p.m.
     Sunday, December 10 at 1:00 p.m.
     Thursday, December 21 at 7:00 p.m.
     Friday, December 22 at 7:30 p.m.
     Saturday, December 23 at 2:00 p.m.
     Saturday, December 23 at 7:35 p.m.
     Sunday, December 24 at 1:00 p.m.

           I will be playing for these performances - there are additional performances December 14 - 17.

 

Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets (The Phoenix Symphony at Symphony Hall)

The Harry Potter Film Concert Series continues with Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets in Concert. Experience the magic of John Williams' legendary score performed live with The Phoenix Symphony as the complete film is projected above the orchestra.

     Friday, January 5 at 7:30 p.m.
     Saturday, January 6 at 1:00 p.m.
     Saturday, January 6 at 7:30 p.m.
     Sunday, January 7 at 2:00 p.m.

 

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 & Korngold Violin Concerto (The Phoenix Symphony at Symphony Hall)

     Friday, March 16 at 11:00 a.m. (Coffee Classics Series, shortened program w/ no intermission)
     Friday, March 16 at 7:30 p.m.
     Saturday, March 17 at 7:30 p.m.

 

The King and I (ASU Gammage Broadway Series; Gammage Auditorium)

     Tuesday, March 20 at 7:30 p.m.
     Wednesday, March 21 at 7:30 p.m.
     Thursday, March 22 at 7:30 p.m.
     Friday, March 23 at 7:30 p.m.
     Saturday, March 24 at 2:00 p.m.
     Saturday, March 24 at 7:30 p.m.
     Sunday, March 25 at 1:00 p.m.
     Sunday, March 25 at 6:30 p.m.

 

Rachmaninoff Symphony No. 2 and Schoenberg Violin Concerto (The Phoenix Symphony at Symphony Hall)

     Friday, June 1 at 7:30 p.m.
     Saturday, June 2 at 7:30 p.m.