The International Baccalaureate (IB) Curriculum

At the Summit Academy IB students actively interact with a rigorous curriculum, which provides an opportunity for in-depth learning. The IB curriculum includes eight different content areas that students are required to study each year they are in the IB Middle Years Programme (MYP). These content areas include:

  • language acquisition,
  • language and literature,
  • individuals and societies,
  • sciences,
  • mathematics,
  • arts,
  • physical and health education,
  • design.

Students achieve higher levels of learning through the principles of inquiry, hands-on learning, and international mindedness. Classroom instruction is made relevant to students as teachers utliize questions that help students make connections to various content areas.  Differentiated instruction with explicit real-world applications and the development of critical thinking skills are also emphasized.

Below is the MYP model displayed as a visual. The eight subject areas are linked together by the Areas of Interaction (AOI's) with the student and the IB Learner Profile at the center of the model. The AOI's help students make connections across the eight disciplines, while the Learner Profile guides students in their daily interactions.

IB Model