This calendar will be used to communicate daily lessons, homework, activities, and tests. It is very important that students keep up to date with all their assignments. Please check this page frequently as assignments are subject to change due to students' progress / needs.

At this age, it is very important for parents to monitor a student's progress.

Science Notebooks....
We keep organized interactive science notebooks all school year. It contains class notes, essential science questions, informational pictures, and much more. Ask your child to see his/her notebook today!

Planners....
Students are given a planner at the beginning of the year in which to write assignments.   Have you checked your child's planner?

Graded Assignments .....
If you look at the parent portal, assignments which are graded and their due dates are listed. Please contact me if you have questions about your child's grades. Have you checked the portal?
 

************************************************THIS WEEK**********************************************

Remember - any unfinished work goes home as homework.

7th and 8th grade will be following separate curriculum from here on.  7th grade assignments are in black; 8th are in blue.

Monday, OCTOBER 22, 2018
7 – Graphing data, part 1
8 – DNA & Forensics – Officer Dieu.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018
7 – Graphing data, part 2. QUIZ TOMORROW
8 – Blood Types

Wednesday, October 24, 2018
7 – Graphing Quiz. Writing Conclusions using the RERUN method. TOMORROW.  
8 – Punnett Squares Test. Mutations.

Thursday, October 25, 2018
7 – Scientific Method Study Packet – Unit Test Tuesday.
8 – Genetic Disorders Jigsaw.

Friday, October 26, 2018
7 – Save Fred.
8 – Modern Genetics

************************************************** LAST WEEK *******************************************

Monday, OCTOBER 15, 2018
7 – Science Process Skills.
8 – Bill Nye – Genes (Review) and Traits Inventory.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018
7 – Review writing a hypothesis - centers
8 – Gregor Mendel and Pea Plant Experiments (Review); DNA

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
7 – Review variables – identifying IV and DV.
8 – Punnett Squares

Thursday, October 18, 2018
7 – QUIZ – Hypothesis, IV & DV.
8 – Create a Monster from Gene Pairs

Friday, October 19, 2018
7 – Graphing. Marking IV and DV on a graph from a data table.
8 – Strawberry DNA Extraction Lab.


Monday, OCTOBER 1, 2018
7 – Introduction to the Scientific Method Video & Worksheet.
8 – Cell Theory.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018
7 – Create mnemonic: Pigs in Hawaii eat raw coconuts.
8 – Parts of a Cell – organelles and their functions

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
7 – Observation / Inference and Qualitative / Quantitative Review.
8 – Cornell Notes – Cells Test Tomorrow. Gummy Bear Osmosis Lab

Thursday, October 4, 2018 = ALL WORK DUE
7 – Scientific method Quiz – Section One. Review writing a hypothesis.
8 – CELLS TEST! Document results from osmosis lab

Friday, October 5, 2018 = REPORT CARD DAY (SHORTENED DAY) - Have a great break!
7 – Writing procedures – how to make a PBJ.
8 – Cheek Cell Lab.

 

 

Monday, September 17, 2018
7 – Density Cube Lab
8 – TEST TOMORROW ON SCIENTIFIC METHOD – PRETEST. BEGIN ONE PAGER. PROJECT DUE WEDNESDAY.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
7 – Buoyancy – Bill Nye. Sink or Float Lab
8 – TEST ON SCIENTIFIC METHOD. CONTINUE WORKING ON ONE PAGER DUE TOMORROW
NOTEBOOK DUE

Wednesday, September 19, 2018
7 – Cornell Notes – TEST TOMORROW ON METRIC SYSTEM – BEGIN ONE PAGER PROJECT
8 – ONE PAGER DUE. Introduction to Cells – Bill Nye

Thursday, September 20, 2018
7 – TEST METRIC SYSTEM - CONTINUE WORKING ON ONE PAGER - DUE TOMORROW
8 –
Sketch a plant and animal cell.  Compare and contrast

Friday, September 21, 2018
7 – ONE PAGER DUE. Building a better boat – engineering lab for buoyancy. NOTEBOOK DUE
8 – Cheek Cell Lab.

 



Monday, September 10, 2018
7 – Measuring length with metric rulers
8 – Review Graphing – MIX, DRY, TAILS. Create graphs from various sets of data

Tuesday, September 11, 2018
7 – Continue with measuring LENGTH - Meter sticks
8 – Spinach Lab – graphing a line graph. VARIABLES TEST

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 – LATE START
7 – LINEAR MEASUREMENT QUIZ. Introduce Density (Bill nye video and foldable)
8 – VARIABLES TEST

Thursday, September 13, 2018
7 – Density Cubes
8 - Writing Conclusions

Friday, September 14, 2018
7 – Sink or Float Lab - Engineering Boats
8 – Procedures – making a PBJ. Writing clear procedures

 

Monday, September 3, 2018
LABOR DAY – NO SCHOOL

Tuesday, September 4, 2018
7 – Continue with measuring mass. Triple Beam Balance Lab
8 – Scientific Method Case Studies (32% of AIMS is on the scientific method)

Wednesday, September 5, 2018
7 – Triple Beam Balance Quiz. Introduce linear measurement with meter sticks.
8 – Helicopter Lab #1. Lab sheet due at the end of class.

Thursday, September 6, 2018
7 – Linear measurement practice
8 –
Helicopter Lab #2


Friday,
September 7, 2018 - PICTURE DAY
7 – 3 types of Volume Lab
8 – Finish Helicopter Lab. Lab sheet due at the end of class.

 

 

Monday, August 27, 2018
7 – Using graduated cylinders to measure volume of regular objects
8 – Cornell Notes. TEST TOMORROW. Thread Lab

Tuesday, August 28, 201
7 – Test on graduated cylinders.  Using graduated cylinders to measure irregular objects (displacement) 8 – Microscope Cornell Notes

Wednesday, August 29, 2018
7 – Displacement Lab.
8 – Microscope Test. Review Scientific Method and Process Skills. Poster Project due Friday

Thursday, August 30, 2018
7 – Test on displacement. Rainbow Lab.
8 – Review Scientific Method (Turtles Ahoy – ID Variables).

Friday, August 31, 2018

7 – Introduce mass measurement with triple beam balances.
8 – Oreo Cookie Double Stuff Lab (Scientific Method Review) Question: Are Oreo Double Stuffed REALLY Double Stuffed??

 


 

Monday, August 20, 2018
Introduction to Lab Equipment (specific to grade level)

Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Make a dichotomous key for lab equipment – Spinner Game to prepare for TEST TOMORROW

Wednesday, August 22, 2018
TEST on lab equipment.

7 - Introduction to measurement - Bill Nye Video and mnemonic
8 – Introduction to Microscopes - identifying parts

Thursday, August 23, 2018
7 - Create a foldable identifying key components of the metric system.
8 – Using premade slides to learn how to properly use and take care of microscopes

Friday, August 24, 2018

7 - Beginning to use graduated cylinders - Milk Lab
8 – Microscopic "E" lab



 


 


 

 


Monday, August 13, 2018
Set up Notebooks. Go over safety contract. GET THE SAFETY CONTRACT SIGNED AND RETURNED TOMORROW.

Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Locate and explain how safety equipment in the classroom is used. Safety video and worksheet. (Accident at Jefferson High) Begin project.

Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Mr. Bean Video - Write safety violations found in video. Begin safety project - 4 Square. SAFETY TEST TOMORROW. YOU MUST GET 100% ON THIS TEST IN ORDER TO DO LABS.

Thursday, August 16, 2018
SAFETY TEST
Continue to work on safety project. DUE TOMORROW.
CHEMICAL SAFETY LAB TOMORROW.
HOMEWORK: FINISH PROJECT

Friday, August 17, 2018
CHEMICAL SAFETY LAB (Exothermic Reactions)
PROJECT DUE

 

WELCOME TO THE 2018-2019 SCHOOL YEAR!! I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO BEING YOUR TEACHER.

Here is what we are doing this week:

Remember - any unfinished work goes home as homework

 

Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Classroom procedures and expectations.
Name Glyphs 
Teambuilding activities - Scientific Summer: Write about how you used science during the summer. Create a clay model about it. Share with your partner
HOMEWORK: GET SYLLABUS SIGNED - BRING COMPOSITION BOOK (AT LEAST 100 PAGES) SPIRAL NOTEBOOKS DON'T LAST

Thursday, August 9, 2018
Review procedures - Quiz tomorrow.
Engineering Design Cycle & Teambuilding - Create a ramp at least 25cm in height that will carry a marble the entire length of the ramp without being touched when it is first released with only the materials given.
HOMEWORK: GET  SYLLABUS SIGNED IF YOU HAVEN'T DONE SO. NO EXPERIMENTS MAY BE DONE WITHOUT HAVING THIS DOCUMENTATION. REMEMBER COMPOSITION NOTEBOOK

Friday, August 10, 2018
Quiz on procedures. Revise and redesign your ramp for maximum results.

HOMEWORK: GET  SYLLABUS SIGNED IF NOT DONE SO ALREADY!  COMPOSITION BOOKS ARE MANDATORY BY MONDAY.