ATHLETICS

Mesa High Fans with text reading Athletics

Kate Hatch 2019 Volleyball Region Player of the Year

Fall sports

Badminton
Head Coach: 

Cross Country
Boys Coach: Angel Torres, axiosphoenix@gmail.com    

Girls Coach: Joe Haver, jwhaver@mpsaz.org 

Football
Head Coach: Chad DeGrenier, cmdegrenier@mpsaz.org
Strength and Conditioning Coach: James Trischan, jjtrishan@mpsaz.org

Golf - Boys
Coach: Darris Schomaker, djschomaker@mpsaz.org

Golf - Girls
Coach: Amber Barrus, acbarrus@mpsaz.org

Swim & Dive
Boys Coach: Mike Haney, mdhaney@mpsaz.org
Girls Coach: 

Volleyball - Girls
Coach: 

Region Player of the Year Mackenzie Shivers

Winter sports

Basketball - Boys
Head Coach: Scott Stansberry, sestansberry@mpsaz.org

Basketball - Girls
Head Coach: Katie Fonseca, kmfonseca@mpsaz.org

Soccer - Boys
Head Coach: TJ Hagen, tjhagen@mpsaz.org

Soccer - Girls
Head Coach: Joe Haver jwhaver@mpsaz.org

Wrestling
Head Coach: David DiDomenico, djdidomenico@mpsaz.org

Region Player of the Year: Tony Perez

Spring sports

Baseball
Head Coach: Ray Figueroa, rfigueroa@mpsaz.org

Softball
Head Coach: Kiley Eskridge, krblodgetteskridge@mpsaz.org

Tennis - Boys
Head Coach: Glenn Meier, glmeier@mpsaz.org

Tennis - Girls
Head Coach: Darris Schomaker, djschomaker@mpsaz.org.

Track & Field - Boys
Head Coach: David Brockmeier, dabrockmeier@mpsaz.org

Track & Field - Girls
Head Coach: Chad DeGrenier cmdegrenier@mpsaz.org

Volleyball - Boys
Head Coach: 

Sand Volleyball-Girls
Head Coach: 

Contacts:

Jay Schnittger
Athletic Director
480-472-5980

Angie Davidson
Athletics Secretary
480-472-5907

Felice Butler
Athletic Trainer
480-472-5907

Jeff Kavosick
Equipment Manager
480-472-5869

Athletic information

All students who wish to participate in interscholastic athletic programs at Mesa High must have successfully completed physical packet on file in the athletic office at Mesa High before they can begin to practice or before they can check out equipment.  The physical must be conducted by a M.D. (doctor of medicine), D.O. (osteopathic physician), N.P. (certified registered nurse practitioner), or PA-C (certified physicians assistant registered by the Joint Board of Examiners in Medicine and Surgery).  The required physical packet may be obtained in the athletic office. If you have any questions regarding physicals contact the athletic secretary, at 480-472-5907.  

Athletic department philosophy/goals

The coaching staff at Mesa High School has dedicated itself to the development of the total student athlete.  Both the physical and psychological growth of each person is conscientiously considered when planning and implementing our athletic program.

Our professional staff is aware of the individual needs of youth as well as the social implications of being able to work as a member of a team.  Students will be given the opportunity to improve their athletic skills and to develop as well-rounded individuals.  

Physical Evaluation Forms
Register My Athlete
Register My Athlete instructions
Registrarse Mis Atleta Instrucciones
Brainbook
Mesa District Athletic Department
Athletic eligibility
AIA transfer information
College-bound athletes
ECA tax credit

Help a student athlete and
lower your taxes

NCAA Clearinghouse
AIA
AIA constitution and bylaws
MAXPREPS