← College Core

Students who take the most rigorous schedule of College Core classes and earn the most grade points, will have the highest College Core. The College Core could be considered a Grade Point Average (GPA) of the 17 courses as described above.  If students take more than the minimum of College core courses in any one area, the courses with the highest grade point in the College Core calculation will be used.   For most courses, each “A” is worth 4 points, each “B” 3 points, and so on.  For weighted courses (advanced/accelerated courses), each “A” is worth 5 points, each “B” is 4 points, each “C” 3 points, each “D” 2 points and each “F” 0 points.

Starting in 2016-2017, the number of College Core credits/semesters will be calculated using expected course completion at the end of each semester.  This will begin at the completion of first semester of the students' 10th grade year:



Completion of 1st Semester

Completion of 2nd Semester

10th Grade

7.5 credits/15 courses

10 credits/20 courses

11th Grade

12 credits/24 courses

14 credits/28 courses

12th Grade

15.5 credits/31 courses

17 credits/34 courses